Hustle & Motivate / Double Up Tees

on

Hustle & Motivate and Double Up are conceptual designs I created as apparel for my brand. The inspiration came from listening to Nipsey Hustle’s Album, “Victory Lap” in which these aptly named songs happen to be two of my favorite songs on it.

“Hustle and Motivate” from my perspective is about doing what is necessary to succeed. Working hard and having a hard work ethic that drives you toward your bigger goals. Motivate is about being humble, and giving back to those who help lift you up, and the community that guided you. Meanwhile, lifting up those around you to help them hustle hard. Together, Hustle & Motivate are like rules to building your empire, or networking. You want to help the people around you build so you can build a more solid foundation and put the right people in positions of power so that you can build the communities you see for yourself and your future.

“Double Up” is about going big or going home. Not giving up when the pressure is on. Keep trying. Even when the odds seem to be against you. This song has a hard, but modest tone to it and it’s calming. Strategically placed at the end of the album, I think was a perfect idea. It makes me reminisce about times where I was playing soccer or whatever sport or competing against someone, and I know I put my all into it. Win or loss at that point, I’m either celebrating a victory or contemplating getting better. But the message in this song is more like placing a bet or betting on yourself and coming back stronger if you “Let yourself down.” But you have to jump off the cliff first. Take a risk.

These two songs have a lot of meaning for me personally because they serve as musical metaphors for my approach to how I am attacking opportunities to make myself greater. No more hesitation. Just execution. I know I’m not the only one who goes through times of self-doubt and need to be picked up every once in a while. The problem is, there isn’t always someone around to do that for you. To lend a helping hand or say something positive during bad times. But maybe wearing it on your chest, maybe knowing that the person designing the shirt, knows how you feel, and wants you to get over all of your obstacles, can be enough motivation to propel you into success.

Leave a comment